Reality versus Imagination

I first played D&D when I was about 12, and I have to say that it fuelled my imagination for years. Me and a group of friends played this and many other RPG’s (Palladium, TMNT, Judge Dredd, Warhammer Fantasy, etc, etc) until we had no spare time left.

Initially I loved the fact that I could, to some degree, experience a sense of adventure in such a way that I never could have in real life. This continued into my late teens, and then I began to work for a living.

Sometime after this point, my view changed, and I found myself involved in gaming to enjoy spending time with friends, and also to escape the stresses of modern working. My friends were also working, and they in turn were having families, getting stressful jobs, etc. Time for games just wasn’t as available, and as the time to make sessions faded, so did the enthusiasm.

Having a lot of work pressures took away the spare bits of brain left available for the task of playing, which did involve brain-space even if just a player. As a GM, the time taken to administer these sessions becomes too much of a task.

I wish that I could re-immerse myself into these halcyon days… the days when surviving a dragon fight on 1hp to scramble through its hoard were things of legend, and getting just enough XP to level up made you feel all warm and fluffy…

…Instead of “Bob called, and their courier has let them down, so that means you are likely to have a load of crap for the next three days explaining to the client, why they can’t have their xyz”.

My questions are thus;

  • Is D&D suffering with older audiences due to the stresses of modern working life?
  • Is there a ‘goldilocks zone’ for player ages, by virtue of ‘mental brain space’

God, I sound like Carrie Bradshaw… God, I even remember her name…

2 thoughts on “Reality versus Imagination

  1. Way too hard to balance a successful game session, as well as a happy family life, as well as hold down a job, as well as sleep.

Leave a Reply

